Pocketful of Yarn

Musings from a crochetaholic

Bobble Blanket

on June 27, 2013

photo

I really like crochet blankets, especially beautifully designed throw blankets. Now when I think about if I want to make one, I have second thoughts about how much I like them šŸ˜› They can be time consuming but the end result is well worth it.

I never really thought about making blankets until I noticed my grandma didn’t have a nice throw around when she was on the couch watching TV. Since it’s like winter 9 months out of the year here, I decided that I would make her a nice blanket.

I was quite picky in choosing a pattern for her blanket, I wanted something that was solid and “blankety” for snuggles on a cold evening. I ended up finding a bobble blanket pattern that had a bobble/puff stitch row every 6 rows to give the blanket a bubbly effect.

image (27)

I learned quickly that I’m a quick project person. I love getting stuff done in a couple days and seeing the finished product fairly quickly. With the blanket….I felt like it took forever. Honestly, it probably wasn’t that long – about 3 weeks of committing an 1-2 hours every day or two. I think it felt long because the one bobble row would take me a full half hour to finish. Which is basically a whole episode of Big Bang Theory before I could finish the row. So either I’m just really slow or I’m too busy watching TV šŸ˜‰

But all in all it was totally worth it! I am so proud of it and my grandma really enjoys it šŸ™‚ So I guess no matter now long it takes to make something, just seeing it make someone happy makes all the time and effort worth it! šŸ˜€ Until next time, happy crocheting!

8 responses to “Bobble Blanket

  1. angelphilipp says:

    Nice blanket, don’t you just love finishing a project. Angel

  2. whittymomma says:

    I just finished my first couch throw šŸ™‚ I’m like you and prefer instant gratification projects, but its definitely worth all the time and effort!

    • Viv says:

      Congrats! The feeling of accomplishing a big project is pretty awesome! But I think I’ll stick to my instant gratification projects šŸ˜‰

  3. jengolightly says:

    I made a blanket for my Grandad, it was one of his favourite things. https://silkelf.wordpress.com/2011/06/05/nestmaking-and-blanket-inspiration/

    • Viv says:

      It’s totally worth all the time and effort when someone enjoys what you made! Kinda makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside šŸ˜‰ Your blanket is so beautiful!

  4. Simply Knots says:

    This blanket is gorgeous; I have issues with instant gratification too, but it feels so good to make a blanket!

Leave a Reply

