Pocketful of Yarn

Musings from a crochetaholic

September is here?!

on September 3, 2013

Where has summer gone?? It always seems so quick and before you know it, it’s back to work and school. Β I have been on a bit of a summer hiatus and it was an absolute blast! I had family from Australia come over, met cousins I have never met before, did a huge family trip to Los Angeles and Disneyland, and went to Las Vegas with my hubby. It was so refreshing to have a summer break – my husband and I were planning to stay around home all summer but decided in June to go travel.

Another cool thing I did this summer was learning how to swim. With all the hot weather and watching everyone else having fun in the pool, I finally got the guts to learn. My hubby has been teaching me (via Youtube videos) and I can now swim a few meters πŸ˜€ I’m still learning! And since we were spending more and more time at the pool, I decided I needed a cute swim bag to put all my gear in…

This is what I made!

DSC_0345

DSC_0347 DSC_0346

DSC_0344

Isn’t it just the cutest? I used T-shirt yarn by Loops & Threads in the color fruit punch and it turned it great! I wanted the bag to be big enough to fit my towel and toiletries, so I used a shoe box to gauge for the size. The t-shirt yarn was super fun to crochet with. It’s stretchy and soft – just a neat texture to be able with work with. I’m planning to make a clear plastic vinyl lining to add to this bag – the yarn isn’t very water proof and I don’t want it to get wet with all my swim gear. I think that will make it so much easier to keep dry and clean πŸ˜€

So this was my summer project! Let me know what you guys have made this summer πŸ™‚ Until next time, happy crocheting! πŸ˜€

7 responses to “September is here?!

  1. Simply Knots says:

    Every time I walk past that yarn, I want it! Mr. SK says I need to have a project planned before we purchase it. I just threw away a t-shirt the other day and was so upset when I remembered I wanted to save it. It was long buried beneath diapers and food and not even Mr. SK would retrieve it. Ah well…. next time? I love your bag! I’ve never lined anything, but I think it’s a great idea. πŸ™‚

  2. Celest Pritchett says:

    Where did you buy that t shirt yarn? I have a pattern waiting but cannot get the yarn. Grrrr!!
    Love your bag-I am so jealous. LOL

    • Viv says:

      I found it at Michaels – just a local craft and hobby store here. I don’t know if this brand is exclusive to the store or not because I haven’t see it anywhere else. The cool thing is that there are many tutorials out there showing how to make your own t-shirt yarn πŸ™‚ which I think is super neat!

  3. fernie1991 says:

    That is so lovely. I love how bright the colours. Is the yarn widely available? πŸ™‚ x

    • Viv says:

      Thank you! I’m not really sure if this yarn is widely available. I found this yarn at Michaels and I haven’t seen this yarn anywhere else. It wouldn’t hurt to see online if you can pick it up or scope out another brand that may also have t-shirt yarn πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

